The Sustainability Advisory Committee (SAC) was established by the Albany Common Council to help the City adopt and promote sustainable practices and to foster unified action on climate change.  SAC works subsidiary to the Mayor’s Office of Sustainability, researching key action items and feasible methods that will help mitigate the adverse effects of climate change on our community, guide conservation efforts, and reinforce our commitment for smart growth.  SAC builds upon existing sustainability plans and resources to help Albany make decisions that are fiscally and environmentally responsible. (Albany 2030 Climate Action Plan, the Climate Change Vulnerability Assessment & Adaptation Plan, NYPA's Five Cites Energy Plan for Albany, and the Capital Region Sustainability Plan).

SAC Meeting Information

SAC Meetings are open to the public--all are welcome.
Location:  Albany City Hall  |  City Court - Room 209
Time:  6:00 PM 

SAC Contact: 
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or via the general 'Contact Us' form.

2020 SAC Schedule:

Thurs. February 6
Thurs. April2
Thurs. June 4
Thurs. August 6
Thurs. October 8

Thurs. December 3

SAC Meeting Minutes

SAC Reports

SAC is tasked to provide an annual report to the City's Mayor and to its Common Council.  Below is SAC's first Annual Report, which summarizes the Committee's recommendations for incorporating sustainability into City operations, and how to best engage Albany's citizens in sustainability issues. 

2016 SAC Annual Report

2015 SAC Annual Report

SAC Subcommittee Reports
To increase public participation, SAC has established sub-committees that focus on specific topics such as Energy, Land Use, Transportation, Water, Waste, Agricultural Systems and Public Outreach.  Subcommittee activities and recommendations have been incorporated in the 2015 SAC Annual Report.  The individual SAC subcommittee reports are available below:

2016 Energy Subcommitee Report
2016 Outreach Subcommittee Report
2016 Transportation Subcommittee Report
2016 Water Subcommitee Report

2015  Built Environment & Land Use Subcommittee Report
2015  Urban Ag Subcommittee Report
2015  Energy Subcommittee Report
2015  Outreach Subcommittee Report
2015  Transportation Subcommittee Report

Sustainability Advisory Committee Members

Appointed Members

Allison Bradley is a Principal Analyst with the New York State Senate Finance Committee where she works on environmental conservation, energy, agriculture and housing issues.

Gabriella Cebada Mora is an Assistant Division Director in the Division of Environmental Stewardship and Planning at the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation where she works on implementation of programs and projects focused on environmental conservation, resiliency, water quality, and environmental education.

Scott Kellogg is the Educational Director at the Radix Ecological Sustainability Center, a non-profit environmental education organization in Albany. He is the chair of the urban agriculture subcommittee. 

Sandra Misiewicz, AICP, is a Senior Transportation Planner II with the Capital District Transportation Committee (CDTC), the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the Capital Region.

Pete Sheehan is a utility analyst at the New York State Department of Public Service where he works on renewable energy and energy efficiency initiatives.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. is an International Development specialist and has worked on sustainability issues with an array of international organizations, NGOs, and research institutes. She is the chair of outreach subcommittee.

Laurie Wheelock is the Staff Attorney for the New York Public Utility Law Project

Daniel Kirk-Davidoff is a Lead Research Scientist at UL Renewables in Colonie, and an Adjunct Associate Professor of Atmospheric and Oceanic Science at the University of Maryland.  

Andre Lake is a Renewable Energy Specialist as well as Realtor in the Capital Region. He is also on the Arbor Hill Development Corporation board. He has years of experience in the residential solar sales and design.

Tina Lieberman is a licensed NYS teacher with a Masters in Special Education.  She volunteers as Education Chair of the Sierra Club Hudson-Mohawk Group and is a co-founder of Zero Waste Capital District which helped pass the polystyrene ban in Albany County.  She chairs the Zero Waste Education Subcommittee where she shares her passion for composting, waste reduction and the protection of our planet.

City Representatives 

Joseph Coffey, Jr., P.E. is Commissioner of the City's Department of Water and Water Supply.

Randall Milano is Albany's City Engineer.

Christopher Spencer is the City's Director of Planning.

William Trudeau is the City's Traffic Coordinator.

Frank Zeoli is the City's Director of Operations at the Department of General Services and oversees the City of Albany Recycling program.